Qualification games of 2016 AFC Futsal Championship to take place

2015-10-30 18:32:37

Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/ Qualification matches of the 2016 AFC Futsal Championship for east zone will be held on October 14-19, 2015 in the “Buyant-Ukhaa” sport complex, Ulaanbaatar.

In this zone, the games will take place among the national futsal teams of Mongolia as the host nation, China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong and South Korea.

A total of 16 teams will be qualified to play in the final tournament, including Japan, Iran, Uzbekistan (hosts), and Kuwait, who qualified directly as the top four finishers of the 2014 AFC Futsal Championship.

Originally only the top three qualified directly, but since third-placed Uzbekistan qualified automatically as hosts, Kuwait also qualified as the next best-ranked team.

The top five teams of the final tournament will qualify for the 2016 FIFA Futsal World Cup in Colombia.