L. Oyun-Erdene becomes 32nd Prime Minister of Mongolia

2021-01-27 19:45:01

Ulaanbaatar/MONTSAME/. At its plenary meeting today, January 27, the Parliament has appointed L.Oyun-Erdene as the 32nd Prime Minister of Mongolia, with 87.9 percent of votes.


Last week, former PM U.Khurelsukh submitted his resignation request to the Parliament, which was subsequently approved by the Parliament. Therefore, the Steering Committee of the Mongolian People’s Party (MPP) and the MPP Conference nominated L. Oyun-Erdene for the next Prime Minister of Mongolia and submitted its proposal to the President on January 22. According to the relevant laws, President Kh.Battulga has sent to the Parliament his proposal on appointing L. Oyun-Erdene as the Prime Minister today.


L. Oyun-Erdene, who had worked as Chief of the Cabinet Secretariat of the previous government since 2019, is one of the leading young politicians of Mongolia. He has been appointed as Prime Minister at a challenging time for Mongolia’s economy as the country responds to the COVID-19 pandemic and during Government talks with Oyu Tolgoi project investors to increase benefits for Mongolia.


Born in 1980 in Ulaanbaatar, Oyun-Erdene Luvsannamsrai, majored in journalism, public administration, and law.



-1998, General Secondary School of Berkh village of Khentii aimag

-2001, Bers Institute, Bachelors Degree in Journalism

-2008, Law School of the National University of Mongolia, Bachelors Degree in Law

-2015, Harvard University, Master’s Degree in Public Administration


Professional Experience:

-2001-2002, Head of the Governor’s Office of Berkh Village, Khentii aimag

-2002-2006, Team Lead, Khentii Community-based development Program, World Vision Mongolia

-2006-2008, Regional Director of World Vision Mongolia

-2009, Head of the Social Development Department of Bayanzurkh District

-2009-2011, Head of the Political Department of the Mongolian People’s Party

-2011-2014, President of Social Democracy Youth Union

-2011-2012, Secretary of the Mongolian People’s Party

-2012, Acting Secretary-General of the Mongolian People’s Party

-2016-2020, Member of Parliament

-2019-2021, Minister of Mongolia and Chief of the Cabinet Secretariat

Since 2020, Member of Parliament

From 2021, Prime Minister of Mongolia