President orders to expand repatriation to bring back Mongolians from abroad

2020-07-09 18:42:16

Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/. President of Mongolia Kh.Battulga today received some members of the cabinet and officials to discuss about the issue of repatriation of Mongolian nationals stranded abroad because of the COVID-19-related border closures to all nationals, and instructed them to expand the current repatriation process. 

Despite the fact that a total of 12,853 Mongolians returned from 40 countries until today in an organized manner since the border restriction were imposed for concerns over COVID-19 outbreak, there are now more than 10,000 Mongolians in overseas countries in distressed living conditions. Therefore, the President ordered relevant officials to focus on increasing the frequency of repatriation charter flights and work more promptly for this matter. 

President Battulga ordered Deputy Prime Minister Ya.Sodbaatar to present detailed report on the schedule of future charter flights, available possibilities and isolation facilities, etc.  

The cabinet ministers were charged with responsibilities to continue with the implementation of the repatriation plan set until August 1 by the previous government and ensure preparedness of all sectors. 

The meeting was attended by Deputy Prime Minister Ya.Sodbaatar, Minister of Foreign Affairs N.Enkhtaivan, Minister of Health T.Munkhsaikhan, Minister of Road and Transport Development L.Khaltar, Ambassador of Mongolia to China T.Badral and other officials. 

Following the regular meeting of the State Emergency Commission held today, July 9, Mongolia is planning to bring back additional 9,884 Mongolians from 55 countries in the near future, including 3,000 people only in July, which is already twice higher than that of the previous month. Press Representative of the  cabinet today reported that the new cabinet formed yesterday is expected sometime soon to discuss whether to extend the ongoing heightened state of preparedness, which include the border closure put in place for all passengers, beyond July 15.