Meetings with First Deputy Chair of the Federation Council Committee on Economic Policy

2019-05-17 16:32:28

Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/ On May 17, MP and Head of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Economy J.Ganbaatar met with a delegation headed by Sergei Kalashnikov, Member of the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation and First Deputy Chair of the Federation Council Committee on Economic Policy.

At the meeting, Mr. Sergei Kalashnikov proposed deepening cooperation between the economic standing committees of the two countries while highlighting the importance of jointly coping with and sharing views and experience on the similar economic challenges in the two countries. In turn, MP J.Ganbaatar fully supported the proposal, expressing his readiness to enhance inter-parliamentary activities and be attentive towards cooperation between the two standing committees. He also voiced interest to boost tourism and citizen-to-citizen relations between the two countries, collaborate on large-scale projects, and bring coal to international markets through Vladivostok.

The same day, Minister of Road and Transport Development B.Enkh-Amgalan received the Russian delegation. He showed interest to export meat, wool, cashmere, leather and dairy products to the Northern part of the Urals, Siberia, and the Far Eastern Federal District, and use the technology and experience of Russia in construction of the oil refinery being built in Dornogobi aimag with Indian financing. The Minister then invited Mr. Sergei Kalashnikov to take part in the celebration of the historic anniversary of the victory of the Khalkha River Battle, while mentioning this year marks many important anniversaries. For his part, Mr. Sergei Kalashnikov accepted the Minister’s proposals.

In the conclusion of the meeting, both sides expressed their hope that bilateral cooperation will be elevated at the regular meeting of the Mongolia-Russia Intergovernmental Commission on Trade, Economic, Scientific and Technical Cooperation to be held on May 30.