MPP candidates win in parliamentary by-election

2021-10-18 14:20:54

Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/. On October 18, Chairman of the General Election Commission P.Delgernaran announced that candidates of the ruling Mongolian People’s Party E.Batshugar and Ts.Iderbat have won by majority votes following the by-election re-polling. 

The commission convened today and approved a resolution acknowledging the victory of candidates Ts.Iderbat (received 17,264 votes or 73.03 percent of voters that participated in the by-election polls in Khentii aimag) and E.Batshugar (received 28,537 votes of 51 percent of voters in capital city’s Songinokhairkhan district) in the parliamentary by-election. The resolution has been presented to the parliament today on October 18. All the votes received through the polls had been hand-counted.


As there was low voter turnout in the parliamentary by-election polls that took place on October 10, it was decided to organize re-polling in the two constituencies on October 16 to involve those who did not cast their votes. The final numbers for the voter turnout of the by-election re-polling was 48.89 percent in Songinokhairkhan district, and 46.65 percent in Khentii aimag. According to the Law on Elections, there are no requirements for voter turnout in re-polling. Thus, the candidates that received the most votes in constituencies are considered to have won the election, and presented to the State Great Khural (parliament). As such, the rights of candidates E.Batshugar and Ts.Iderbat as parliament members will fully come into effect once the results have been introduced to the parliament and the two candidates have taken their oaths.

In 2020, candidate from Mongolian People’s Party D.Sumiyabazar was elected as a parliament member, representing the capital city’s Songinokhairkhan district. Sumiyabazar was dismissed from the legislative position at his own request on October 23, 2020 and he has been serving as Governor of the Capital City and Mayor of Ulaanbaatar city since October 26, 2020. 


From the same political party, candidate U.Khurelsukh was also elected as a parliament member. However, he later had a victory in the 2021 presidential election, making it necessary to organize a by-election to fill the office that became vacant. 

Related news