Thermal power plants to be built in capitals of 10 aimags

2021-12-28 15:51:13

Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/ The action program of the government of Mongolia includes an objective to develop new thermal power sources and infrastructure to meet the increasing heat demands of aimag capitals. To achieve the objective, the Ministry of Energy is implementing the MON-14 project funded by a soft loan from the Republic of Korea to build thermal power plants in the capitals of 10 aimags.

The construction works have commenced in the capitals of seven aimags namely Bayankhongor, Gobi-Altai, Gobisumber, Zavkhan, Uvurkhangai, Sukhbaatar and Khentii and the sides signed the project agreement on December 27. The signing ceremony was attended by Minister of Energy N.Tavinbekh, Ambassador of the Republic of Korea to Mongolia Lee Yeo Hong and other officials.

The general contractor, Byucksan Engineering, is building the thermal power stations, pipelines, and heat transmission facilities in the aimag capitals in 26 and a half months.

Preparations are underway to begin the construction of thermal power plants in the remaining capitals of the three aimags, namely Arkhangai, Dundgobi, and Tuv, in 2022 and complete the construction in two years.

Related news