Ministry of Digital Development and Communications established

2022-01-12 16:12:27

Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/ During its irregular meeting on January 6, the Cabinet dissolved the Communications and Information Technology Authority of Mongolia (CITA) and approved the structure and strategy of the Ministry of Digital Development and Communications.

Minister of Education and Science L.Enkh-Amgalan will serve as the Acting Minister of Digital Development and Communications and B.Bolor-Erdene as the ministry’s Acting State Secretary. Officials led by Deputy Chief of the Cabinet Secretariat U.Byambasuren worked at CITA to announce the Cabinet’s decision.

The State Great Khural and the Government have identified information and communications technology as a key economic sector. Moreover, Mongolia’s long-term, development policy ‘Vision 2050’ and the Government’s action program for 2020-2024 include a goal to become a digital nation and plans are afoot to  digitize 90 percent of government services by 2024,” said Minister L.Enkh-Amgalan. “The parliament has approved five packages of laws on digital governance and the Digital Development and Communications Ministry will have an important role in the efforts. The ministry will help accelerate the country’s development and improve its competitiveness”

The Ministry of Digital Development and Communications has six departments for Policy and Planning; Digital Development Policy Implementation; Communications Policy Implementation; Cyber Security Policy Implementation; Public Administration; and Monitoring Evaluation and Internal Audit; and eight divisions.