Parliament re-elects incumbent Khurelsukh as Prime Minister

2020-07-02 13:23:14

Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/. At today’s plenary session of State Great Khural, the parliament of Mongolia, elected incumbent Prime Minister U.Khurelsukh as the country’s 31st Prime Minister. 

The ruling Mongolian People’s Party's Conference nominated U.Khurelsukh to the Prime Minister, and President of Mongolia Kh.Battulga supported it and submitted the nomination to the parliament.

After hearing proposal and conclusion of President of Mongolia Kh.Battulga and Parliamentary standing committee on State Structure on supporting to appoint U.Khurelsukh, Mongolian People’s Party member elected to the parliament, as Prime Minister, an open vote was held, where out of 71 parliament members in attendance, 70 members, except MP B.Purevdorj (Democratic Party), voted in favor of the approval of U.Khurelsukh as a head of the cabinet. 

Following his re-election to a second term as Prime Minister, U.Khurelsukh addressed the session to introduce about four priority areas the new government will focus on, which are as follows. 

- Turning the country into an export-oriented country without any debt burdens and an active player in the regional trade with the help of ongoing and new large-scale railway, energy and mining development projects, such as Tavantolgoi-Gashuunsukhait-Zuunbayan railway construction projects, Tavantolgoi and Erdeneburen Power plant projects and the country’s first oil refinery project, etc.

- Promoting social justice and building a ‘Digital Mongolia’ 

- Improving livelihoods and expanding the middle class

- Sustaining balance between urban and rural development 

Born in 1968 in Ulaanbaatar city, Khurelsukh Ukhnaa graduated from the National Defense University in 1999 and the Law School of the National University of Mongolia in 2000. He served as a member of the State Great Khural in 2000-2004, 2004-2008 and 2012-2013, and as a cabinet member in 2004-2006 and 2006-2008, and as a member of the cabinet and Deputy Prime Minister in 2014-2015 and 2016-2017. Since 2017, he was Prime Minister of Mongolia and was elected to the 8th parliament of Mongolia from Khentii aimag by the recent parliament election held on June 24.