Preliminary results of elections for Ulaanbaatar’s local councils

2020-10-16 15:21:24

Polls have closed across Mongolia in the 2020 elections for the Citizens’ Representative Khurals - local councils. 

Preliminary results are being updated at this moment as ballots being counted at the 2,148 polling places throughout the country following the closure of the polls where Mongolians voted to elect their new representatives at the local self-government bodies for 21 aimags and their 330 soums and capital city Ulaanbaatar, and its 9 districts. 

17,149 candidates of 9 political parties and coalitions and independents ran for the local elections for 8,169 seats in total nationwide. 

In particular, in aimag and capital city-level Citizens’ Representative Khural elections, 1,901 candidates vied for the 816 seats, while in soum-level elections, 14,388 candidates participated for 7,062 mandates, and 696 candidates for 291 seats at district-level local councils, according to the General Election Commission.

As shown in the preliminary results of the elections provided by the Election Commission of Ulaanbaatar city, out of 291 mandates for the Citizens’ Representative Khurals of 9 districts of the capital city, and 201 mandates went to the representatives from the Mongolian People’s Party, 75 seats to the Democratic Party representatives, 10 seats to the National Labor Party, one seat to the Mongolian People’s Revolutionary Party, one seat to Mongolian Green Party candidate and one seat to an independent candidate. 

Because two candidates from the Mongolian People’s Party and Democratic Party have received the same number of votes, ending in ties at an electoral constituency in Nalaikh District with 4 mandates, the second ballot to be held within 10 days as stated in the corresponding law on local council elections. 

As of 45 seats of the Citizens’ Representative Khural of Ulaanbaatar city, candidates of the Mongolian People’s Party gained majority by winning 34 seats, Democratic Party won 8 seats and Mongolian Labor Party 3 seats. 

Final results of the elections for local council bodies in 21 aimags and 330 soums are being collected and to be merged together in coming hours.