Diplomatic passport holders to travel to Slovenia visa free

2021-01-27 15:20:18

Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/ At its regular meeting on January 27, the Cabinet made the following decisions:

The Cabinet approved the Visa Waiver Agreement for holders of diplomatic and service passports signed between Mongolia and the Republic of Slovenia. The agreement enables Mongolian and Slovenian diplomatic and service passport holders to travel to each other’s country without obtaining a visa to stay up to 90 days. With this, Mongolian diplomatic passport holders are now allowed to travel visa free to 59 countries including 17 European Union member states and service passport holders to 53 countries including 12 EU member states. 


The Cabinet backed the draft Tourist Visa Waiver Agreement for ordinary passport holders between Mongolia and the Republic of Peru. When the agreement is signed, citizens of the two countries will travel to each other’s country visa free for stays of up to 90 days. Ordinary passport holders of Mongolia enjoy visa free travel to 24 countries including Latin American countries of Brazil, Uruguay, Chile, Argentina, Cuba, and Ecuador.


The Cabinet approved the Regulations on the Implementation of World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on Safeguards. The Agreement establishes rules for the application of safeguard measures by WTO member countries. A safeguard is a temporary import restriction (for example a quota or a tariff increase) that a country is allowed to impose on a product if imports of that product are increasing so as to cause, or threaten to cause, serious injury to a domestic industry that produces a similar or directly competitive product.