Mongolia elected as SIAP Governing Council member

2019-06-03 15:00:43

Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/ Mongolia was elected as member of the Governing Council of the Statistical Institute for Asia and the Pacific (SIAP) at the election held during the 75th Session of the UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) organized on May 27-31.

A total of 14 countries including Australia, Bangladesh, China, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Macau, Pakistan, the Philippines, Republic of Korea, Russia, Sri Lanka and Thailand competed for eight seats of Governing Council along with Mongolia. Mongolia received a majority votes in the election held by secret ballot and was assigned to the Governing Council until 2022.

Headquartered in Chiba city of Japan, the SIAP Governing Council has a total of nine members, eight of which are elected from the ESCAP members every three years. Japanese representative is a permanent member, designated by the Government of Japan.

Mongolia had been the Governing Council member during 2000-2003. In the next three years, Mongolia will be cooperating with Bangladesh, China, India, Pakistan, Korea, Russia and Thailand.