Speaker Z.Enkhbold meets Assistant Secretary of State

2015-09-10 13:13:36

Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/ The Chairman of the State Great Khural (parliament) Z.Enkhbold Wednesday received a visiting delegation led by Mr Daniel R. Russel, the Assistant US Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs.

Expressing thanks to the Speaker for an audience, Mr Russel said he is visiting here to take part in the 10th consultative meeting between the Mongolia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the US Department of State.

Mr Russel emphasized that the USA appreciated good democracy of Mongolia, and is always thankful to Mongolia to developing the democracy, adding that his country fully supports an independence of the Mongolian economy.

Mr Russel also pointed out that US investors, businessmen and economic experts are ready to expand cooperation with Mongolia provided that Mongolia ensures its stability in politics, tax and legal environment. He shared views on widening the bilateral relations in business and economy.

In response, the Speaker Mr Z.Enkhbold said he is happy for the visit of Mr Russel, and underlined the democracy was a historical choice of Mongolians.

A present economic situation is a big challenge for Mongolia, thus the country is focusing attention to making its economy multi-pillar, the Speaker noted. Mentioning about a chance for enhancing the Mongolia-USA economic ties, Mr Enkhbold said parliament is paying big attention to it.

The sides discussed issues of the politics, economy, business and legal environment, and shared views on forwarding the bilateral relations and cooperation in economy and business spheres.

Present at the meeting were R.Gonchigdorj, a Vice Speaker of parliament and chair of the Mongolia-USA inter-parliamentary group; Ts.Tsolmon MP, the Defense Minister; O.Baasankhuu MP, head of the Standing committee on petitions; G.Batkhuu, D.Oyunkhorol MPs; B.Altangerel, the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of Mongolia to the USA; D.Gankhuyag, the State Secretary of the Mongolia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs; and other officials.