President presented with final results of parliamentary election

2020-07-01 18:51:10

Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/. The General Election Commission (GEC) presented the final results of parliamentary election 2020 to President of Mongolia Khaltmaagiin Battulga on June 30.

Upon presenting the official final results, GEC Chairman Ch.Sodnomtseren said:

“The General Election Commission of Mongolia has organized the Eighth State Great Khural (Parliament) Elections with success, in the scope of the Commission’s full rights bestowed by the laws and in accordance with the Constitution of Mongolia, the Law on General Election Authority, the Law on Elections of State Great Khural of Mongolia and the Law on Automated Election System.

The regular parliamentary election of 2020 was organized based on larger constituencies with multi-mandate system. A total of 21 electoral commissions nationwide, consisting of 337 local commissions in soums and districts, 2070 polling stations and 27 IT teams had been set up and 35,772 public servants took part in the organization.

The General Authority of State Registration took over the role of formulation of voters’ list, keeping record of and crosschecking migration, eliminating duplication of identity, and provided general guidance over registration issues.

GEC worked closely with the State Emergency Commission, the Ministry of Health and National Emergency Management Agency on implementing precaution measures of COVID-19.

A total of 13 political parties and 4 coalitions registered their candidates. Including 121 independent candidates, a total of 606 candidates had been nominated and organized their electoral campaigns within the legally provided timeframe.

Out of the total 2,003,969 Mongolian nationals of age, 1,475,780 voters cast their ballots on the Election Day of June 24th, 2020.

Votes were counted electronically. However, additional manual counting took place in 846 polling stations for revaluation, results of which matched the e-counting results”.

The GEC Chairman further provided details of election results. The Mongolian People’s Party (MPP) secured a majority, 62 seats, while the Democratic Party (DP) secured 11, “Ta Bidnii Evsel” (Yours and Ours or Our Coalition) won 1 seat, “Zuv Khun – Electorate” (Right Person – Electorate) Coalition, and independent candidate won a seat.

The elected MPs received the Resolutions, certifying their electoral victory and seats in the parliament, on June 29, 2020.

GEC members presented the final election results and the above mentioned Resolutions to President Khaltmaagiin Battulga.

Office of the President of Mongolia